what is vegan

Is hidrogenocarbonato de sódio vegan?

Hidrogenocarbonato de sódio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hidrogenocarbonato de sódio?

Hidrogenocarbonato de sódio, also known as sodium bicarbonate or baking soda, is a white crystalline powder with a slightly salty and alkaline taste. It is a versatile ingredient that is widely used in the food industry as a leavening agent for baked goods, such as cakes, cookies, and bread. It reacts with acidic ingredients, like vinegar or lemon juice, to produce carbon dioxide gas, which causes the batter or dough to rise and results in a lighter texture. Additionally, hidrogenocarbonato de sódio can also be used as a cleaning agent, a deodorizer, and in personal care products, such as toothpaste and deodorant.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hidrogenocarbonato de sódio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy