what is vegan

Is hydrogenated lard glyceride vegan?

Hydrogenated lard glyceride is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrogenated lard glyceride?

Hydrogenated lard glyceride is a food ingredient commonly used in the baking and food processing industries. It is a type of fat made by adding hydrogen to lard, a rendered form of pig fat, to increase its melting point and improve its stability. The resulting product has a creamy white color and a smooth texture, which makes it ideal for use in many baked goods, such as cookies and pastries. Hydrogenated lard glyceride is also used as a flavor enhancer in some processed foods, but it has fallen out of favor in recent years due to its high content of saturated fats, which are associated with an increased risk of heart disease.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrogenated lard glyceride?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy