what is vegan

Is hydroxypropyl-di-starch phosphate vegan?

Hydroxypropyl-di-starch phosphate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydroxypropyl-di-starch phosphate?

Hydroxypropyl-di-starch phosphate is a modified starch commonly used as a food ingredient to improve texture, stability and shelf life. It is made by treating native starch with propylene oxide and phosphoric acid, which results in a highly branched and cross-linked molecule. This modified starch has excellent water binding properties and can be used in a variety of food products such as soups, sauces, dressings, baked goods, and dairy products. Additionally, hydroxypropyl-di-starch phosphate is resistant to high temperatures and low pH, making it a versatile and reliable ingredient for food manufacturers.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydroxypropyl-di-starch phosphate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy