what is vegan

Is isocetyl stearate vegan?

Isocetyl stearate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is isocetyl stearate?

Isocetyl stearate is a versatile food ingredient commonly used as an emollient, texture enhancer, and skin conditioning agent. It is a wax-like substance that is derived from the fatty acids found in natural vegetable and animal sources. Isocetyl stearate is known for its excellent spreadability and lubricating properties, making it a popular choice in food products such as baked goods, confectionery, and chocolate. With its ability to create a smooth and silky texture, isocetyl stearate helps improve the mouthfeel of foods while also increasing their stability and shelf life.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like isocetyl stearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy