what is vegan

Is jästextrakt vegan?

Jästextrakt is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is jästextrakt?

Jästextrakt, also known as yeast extract, is a natural food ingredient that is derived from yeast cells. It is a concentrated paste or powder that is made by autolysing yeast cells, which means that the yeast cells are broken down by their own enzymes. Jästextrakt has a savory, umami taste that is often compared to the taste of meat broth or bouillon. It is a popular ingredient in vegetarian and vegan cooking because it adds depth and complexity to dishes without the use of animal products. Additionally, it is a source of vitamins, minerals, and amino acids, making it a nutritious addition to a variety of dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like jästextrakt?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy