what is vegan

Is lac-resin vegan?

Lac-resin is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is lac-resin?

Lac resin, also known as shellac, is a natural secretion produced by the female lac bug found in Southeast Asia and India. The resin is harvested by scraping the bark of the host trees where the bugs reside, and then processed into a variety of forms, including flakes, powder, and liquid. Lac resin has been used for centuries in various industries, including food, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals, due to its unique properties, including being a natural adhesive, glossing agent, and food glaze. It is commonly used as a coating for candies, pills, and fruits to improve their appearance and extend their shelf life. Additionally, it has been studied for potential medicinal uses due to its antimicrobial and anti-inflammatory properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lac-resin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy