what is vegan

Is lattato di calcio vegan?

Lattato di calcio is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is lattato di calcio?

Lattato di calcio, also known as calcium lactate, is a white crystalline salt that is commonly used as a food additive. It is produced by the reaction between lactic acid and calcium carbonate or calcium hydroxide. Calcium lactate is highly soluble in water and has a slightly salty and acidic taste. It is commonly used as a firming agent in foods such as pickles, olives, and cheese. Additionally, it is often used in baking as a leavening agent, and in sports drinks to help athletes replenish electrolytes lost during exercise. Calcium lactate is also a good source of calcium, an essential mineral that is important for maintaining strong bones and teeth.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lattato di calcio?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy