what is vegan

Is levadura kéfir vegan?

Levadura kéfir is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is levadura kéfir?

Levadura kéfir, also known as kefir yeast, is a type of fungus that is commonly used in the production of kefir, a fermented dairy drink. This yeast is a mixture of different types of bacteria and yeasts, and is responsible for the tangy and slightly effervescent flavor of kefir. It is typically added to milk and left to ferment for several hours, during which time the yeast consumes the lactose in the milk and produces lactic acid, carbon dioxide, and other compounds. Levadura kéfir is also used as a natural leavening agent in baking, and has been associated with numerous health benefits, including improved digestion and a stronger immune system.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like levadura kéfir?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy