what is vegan

Is liquorice root vegan?

Liquorice root is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is liquorice root?

Liquorice root is a flavorful and aromatic herbaceous perennial plant that is native to the Mediterranean and parts of Asia. The root is woody, fibrous, and dark brown, with a sweet and slightly bitter taste. It has been used for centuries in traditional medicine to treat various ailments, including coughs, sore throats, and digestive issues. The root contains glycyrrhizin, a compound that gives it its characteristic sweet taste and has been found to have anti-inflammatory and anti-viral properties. Liquorice root is a versatile ingredient used in confectionery, teas, and traditional medicine, and is also believed to aid in weight loss and promote healthy skin.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like liquorice root?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy