what is vegan

Is lomi salmon vegan?

Lomi salmon is a traditional Hawaiian dish made of salted, marinated, and shredded salmon mixed with tomatoes, onions, and chili peppers. The word "lomi" means to massage or knead in Hawaiian, and that's precisely how the ingredients are combined. This process creates a savory and tangy flavor unique to lomi salmon. It's often served as an appetizer or side dish and is a staple at luau feasts. Lomi salmon is not only delicious but also rich in omega-3 fatty acids and protein, making it a healthy addition to any meal.

Lomi salmon is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lomi salmon?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy