what is vegan

Is lotus root vegan?

Lotus root is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is lotus root?

Lotus root is a unique ingredient that adds both flavor and texture to dishes. This aquatic root vegetable is known for its distinctive appearance with a series of holes running through its length, making it an aesthetically pleasing addition to dishes. With a slightly sweet taste and crisp texture, lotus root is commonly used in Asian cuisine, particularly in stir-fries, soups, and salads. Not only is it delicious, but lotus root is also rich in fiber, vitamin C, and various minerals, making it a healthy addition to any diet. Whether it's fried, pickled, or boiled, lotus root is sure to add a flavorful and nutritious twist to your meals.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like lotus root?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy