what is vegan

Is madere vegan?

Madere is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is madere?

Madere is a versatile and aromatic ingredient that has been used in cooking for centuries. Also known as Madeira wine, it is a fortified wine that hails from the Portuguese island of Madeira. With a rich amber color and a distinct nutty flavor, madere adds a depth of flavor to savory dishes, sauces, and gravies. It is often used to deglaze pans and bring out the flavors in meats, mushrooms, and vegetables. The high alcohol content of madere also makes it a great ingredient for desserts, where it can be used to add depth and complexity to custards, cakes, and even ice creams. With its unique taste and long history, madere is a must-have ingredient for any aspiring chef.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like madere?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy