what is vegan

Is magnesium myristate magnesium oleate vegan?

Magnesium myristate magnesium oleate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is magnesium myristate magnesium oleate?

Magnesium myristate and magnesium oleate are food ingredients that are commonly used as emulsifiers, stabilizers, and texturizers. Magnesium myristate is a white, odorless powder that is derived from myristic acid, a fatty acid found in coconut oil and palm kernel oil. It has a low water solubility and is often used in powdered products to improve flowability and reduce caking. Magnesium oleate, on the other hand, is a yellow-brown liquid that is derived from oleic acid, a monounsaturated fatty acid found in many vegetable oils. It is used as an emulsifier and thickening agent in food products such as margarine, salad dressings, and sauces. Both magnesium myristate and magnesium oleate are generally recognized as safe (GRAS) by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and are widely used in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like magnesium myristate magnesium oleate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy