what is vegan

Is malt barley vinegar vegan?

Malt barley vinegar is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is malt barley vinegar?

Malt barley vinegar is a tangy and flavorful ingredient made from malted barley, water, and yeast. The barley is first malted, which means it is germinated and then dried, to release the enzymes needed to break down the starches in the grain. The malted barley is then combined with water and yeast to ferment into alcohol, which is then converted into vinegar. The resulting vinegar has a distinct nutty and slightly sweet flavor, making it a popular ingredient in marinades, dressings, and sauces. Malt barley vinegar also has a range of potential health benefits, including aiding digestion and improving blood sugar control.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like malt barley vinegar?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy