what is vegan

Is malto d'orzo vegan?

Malto d'orzo is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is malto d'orzo?

Malto d'orzo, also known as barley malt, is a natural sweetener made from sprouted barley grains. During the production process, the barley grains are soaked in water and allowed to germinate, which converts the starches in the grains into sugars. The sprouted barley is then dried and ground into a fine powder, which can be used as a natural sweetener in a variety of foods and beverages. Barley malt has a rich, slightly nutty flavor and is often used in the brewing of beer, as well as in the production of bread, cereal, and candy. It is also a popular ingredient in health foods due to its high nutritional value, containing essential amino acids, vitamins, and minerals.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like malto d'orzo?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy