what is vegan

Is maltodextrine fumée vegan?

Maltodextrine fumée is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is maltodextrine fumée?

Maltodextrine fumée, also known as smoked maltodextrin, is a modified food starch made by treating corn or potato starch with enzymes and acids to break down the complex carbohydrates into shorter chains of glucose molecules. The resulting powder has a smoky flavor and aroma that makes it an excellent ingredient for adding a hint of smoke to various food products, such as meats, sauces, and seasonings. Maltodextrine fumée is a popular choice among food manufacturers due to its versatility, easy handling, and ability to enhance the flavor and texture of a wide range of food products. It is often used as a natural flavor enhancer, stabilizer, or thickener in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maltodextrine fumée?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy