what is vegan

Is mono- and diglycerides with vegan?

Mono- and diglycerides with is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is mono- and diglycerides with?

Mono- and diglycerides with, commonly referred to as simply "MDG," are a type of emulsifier commonly used in the food industry. MDG molecules consist of a glycerol molecule with one or two fatty acid chains attached, which allow them to act as a bridge between two immiscible substances such as oil and water. As a result, MDG is often added to processed foods to improve texture, stability, and shelf life. While MDG is generally considered safe for consumption by regulatory agencies, some studies have linked it to potential negative health effects in high doses.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like mono- and diglycerides with?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy