what is vegan

Is monosodium l-glutamate vegan?

Monosodium l-glutamate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is monosodium l-glutamate?

Monosodium L-glutamate, also known as MSG, is a flavor enhancer commonly used in Asian cuisine. It is a white, crystalline powder that is derived from the amino acid glutamate, which is found naturally in many foods including tomatoes, mushrooms, and cheese. MSG works by stimulating the umami taste receptors on the tongue, which results in a savory, meaty flavor. Despite some concerns in the past about its safety, numerous studies have confirmed that MSG is safe for most people to consume in moderate amounts. MSG is often used in soups, stir-fries, and marinades to add a delicious and satisfying depth of flavor to dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like monosodium l-glutamate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy