what is vegan

Is natural malt flavor vegan?

Natural malt flavor is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is natural malt flavor?

Natural malt flavor is a food ingredient that is derived from malted barley, which has been roasted to develop its distinct flavor profile. This process brings out a deep, rich, and slightly sweet flavor with a subtle nutty undertone that is reminiscent of baked goods. It is often used in baking recipes such as bread, cookies, and cakes to enhance their flavor and aroma. Natural malt flavor can also be added to savory dishes, such as soups and stews, to provide a subtle depth of flavor. It is a versatile ingredient that can be used to add complexity and richness to a variety of dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like natural malt flavor?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy