what is vegan

Is octyl acetoxystearate vegan?

Octyl acetoxystearate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is octyl acetoxystearate?

Octyl acetoxystearate is a versatile food ingredient that is commonly used as an emulsifier, stabilizer, and thickener. It is a type of ester that is derived from a combination of octanol, acetic acid, and stearic acid. This clear, odorless liquid is highly soluble in oils and fats, making it an ideal ingredient for many processed foods. Octyl acetoxystearate is often used in baked goods, confectionery, and dairy products to improve texture, increase shelf life, and enhance flavor. It is also commonly used in cosmetics, personal care products, and pharmaceuticals due to its excellent emulsifying properties.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like octyl acetoxystearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy