what is vegan

Is nonyl acetate vegan?

Nonyl acetate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is nonyl acetate?

Nonyl acetate is a clear, colorless liquid with a fruity, floral odor reminiscent of jasmine and orange blossoms. It is an ester formed by the reaction of nonanol with acetic acid and is commonly used as a flavoring agent and fragrance in various food and cosmetic products. In addition to its pleasant aroma, nonyl acetate is also used as a solvent for resins, oils, and waxes. Despite its natural occurrence in fruits and flowers, nonyl acetate should be used in moderation as it may cause skin irritation and respiratory distress if inhaled in high concentrations.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like nonyl acetate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy