what is vegan

Is palm kernel vegan?

Palm kernel is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is palm kernel?

Palm kernel is a type of oilseed derived from the fruit of the oil palm tree. It has a hard outer shell that needs to be removed before processing. Once the shell is removed, the kernel can be ground into a fine powder or pressed to extract the oil. The resulting oil is high in saturated fat and has a neutral flavor, making it a popular ingredient in a variety of food products, including margarine, chocolate, and baked goods. Palm kernel oil is also used in non-food products, such as soaps and cosmetics, due to its moisturizing properties. However, the production of palm kernel oil has been controversial due to its impact on the environment and endangered species.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like palm kernel?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy