what is vegan

Is partially hydrogenated soy oil vegan?

Partially hydrogenated soy oil is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is partially hydrogenated soy oil?

Partially hydrogenated soy oil is a vegetable oil that has undergone a process of hydrogenation, which involves adding hydrogen atoms to the oil to make it more stable and solid at room temperature. This process also transforms some of the unsaturated fats in the oil into trans fats, which are known to increase LDL (bad) cholesterol and decrease HDL (good) cholesterol in the body. Partially hydrogenated soy oil is commonly used in processed foods such as baked goods, snack foods, and margarine. However, due to its negative health effects, many food manufacturers are now phasing it out of their products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like partially hydrogenated soy oil?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy