what is vegan

Is partly hydrogenated vegetable fat vegan?

Partly hydrogenated vegetable fat is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is partly hydrogenated vegetable fat?

Partly hydrogenated vegetable fat is a type of processed fat that is commonly used in the food industry to improve the texture and shelf life of products. It is made by adding hydrogen to vegetable oil, which changes its chemical structure and makes it more solid at room temperature. This ingredient is often found in baked goods, such as cookies and crackers, as well as in fried foods like french fries and donuts. However, it has been linked to negative health effects such as increasing the risk of heart disease. As a result, many companies have removed this ingredient from their products in recent years.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like partly hydrogenated vegetable fat?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy