what is vegan

Is polietilenoglicol vegan?

Polietilenoglicol is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is polietilenoglicol?

Polyethylene glycol (PEG), also known as polyethylene oxide or polyoxyethylene, is a synthetic polymer that has a wide range of applications in the food industry. It is a water-soluble, waxy substance that is used as a food additive, emulsifier, and thickener. PEG is commonly used to coat food products to improve their texture and appearance, and it is also used as a humectant to help keep foods moist. In addition, PEG is used as a solvent in food processing and can be found in a variety of food products, including baked goods, candy, and dairy products. While PEG is generally considered safe for consumption, individuals with certain medical conditions may need to limit their intake.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like polietilenoglicol?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy