what is vegan

Is présure ' vegan?

Présure ' is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is présure '?

Présure, also known as rennet, is a key ingredient used in the production of many types of cheese. It is a complex mixture of enzymes, primarily chymosin, that is derived from the stomach lining of young ruminant animals such as calves, lambs or goats. Présure is used to coagulate milk proteins, causing them to separate into solid curds and liquid whey. The resulting curds are then shaped, salted, and aged to create a wide variety of delicious and unique cheeses with varying textures and flavors. Due to its animal origin, there are also vegetarian and microbial alternatives available for those who prefer a non-animal source of this essential cheese-making ingredient.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like présure '?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy