what is vegan

Is pyrophosphate de sodium vegan?

Pyrophosphate de sodium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is pyrophosphate de sodium?

Pyrophosphate de sodium is a white crystalline powder that is commonly used as a food additive. It belongs to the family of phosphates and has the chemical formula Na4P2O7. It is a multifunctional ingredient that serves as a buffering agent, emulsifier, and sequestrant in food products. Pyrophosphate de sodium can be found in a wide range of foods including processed meats, canned fruits, and baked goods. Its main function is to maintain the texture and consistency of these products while also extending their shelf life. However, excessive consumption of pyrophosphate de sodium may have adverse health effects, such as kidney damage and cardiovascular disease.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like pyrophosphate de sodium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy