what is vegan

Is šljiva vegan?

Šljiva is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is šljiva?

Šljiva, also known as the European plum, is a sweet and juicy fruit commonly used in Balkan cuisine. With its deep purple skin and golden flesh, it's a delicious addition to jams, jellies, and baked goods. Šljiva is packed with vitamin C, fiber, and antioxidants, making it a healthy snack option. It's also a popular ingredient in traditional Serbian rakija, a type of brandy made by distilling fermented fruit. Whether eaten fresh or cooked, šljiva's unique flavor profile adds a distinctive tangy sweetness to any dish.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like šljiva?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy