what is vegan

Is soy a lecithin vegan?

Soy a lecithin is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is soy a lecithin?

Soy lecithin is a versatile and widely used food ingredient that is derived from soybeans. It is a natural emulsifier, meaning that it helps to bind together ingredients that do not typically mix well, such as oil and water. Soy lecithin is commonly used in food production as a stabilizer, thickener, and preservative. It is also used in the manufacturing of various products, such as chocolate, baked goods, and salad dressings. Soy lecithin is an excellent source of choline, which is an essential nutrient that is important for brain function and liver health. Additionally, it is a non-GMO and plant-based ingredient that is suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like soy a lecithin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy