what is vegan

Is starch sodium octenyl succinate vegan?

Starch sodium octenyl succinate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is starch sodium octenyl succinate?

Starch sodium octenyl succinate is a modified starch commonly used as a food ingredient to improve the texture and stability of various food products. It is produced by treating starch with octenyl succinic anhydride, resulting in a water-soluble and heat-stable starch. This modified starch is often used in dairy products, such as cheese and ice cream, as well as in processed foods, such as sauces and dressings, to prevent separation and improve shelf life. Starch sodium octenyl succinate is considered safe for consumption by regulatory agencies and is a popular choice among food manufacturers looking to improve the quality of their products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like starch sodium octenyl succinate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy