what is vegan

Is sucrose ester vegan?

Sucrose ester is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sucrose ester?

Sucrose ester is a food ingredient that is derived from sucrose and fatty acids. It is a type of emulsifier that is commonly used in the food industry to improve the texture and stability of various food products, including baked goods, dairy products, and beverages. Sucrose ester is particularly effective in creating stable oil-in-water emulsions, which is why it is often used in products such as ice cream and whipped cream. In addition to its emulsifying properties, sucrose ester also acts as a humectant, which means it helps to retain moisture and extend shelf life. Despite being an artificial ingredient, sucrose ester is generally considered safe for consumption by regulatory bodies such as the FDA.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sucrose ester?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy