what is vegan

Is sweet potato starch vegan?

Sweet potato starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sweet potato starch?

Sweet potato starch is a versatile and gluten-free ingredient that's derived from the starchy flesh of sweet potatoes. Packed with dietary fiber and essential nutrients like potassium, calcium, and vitamin A, this plant-based starch is often used as a thickening agent in soups, sauces, and gravies. It also performs well in baking applications, adding moisture and texture to breads, cakes, and cookies. Sweet potato starch has a neutral flavor and can be used as a substitute for cornstarch or wheat flour in many recipes. Its natural smoothness and binding qualities make it an ideal ingredient in gluten-free and vegan cooking.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sweet potato starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy