what is vegan

Is tapioca food starch vegan?

Tapioca food starch is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tapioca food starch?

Tapioca food starch is a popular ingredient in the food industry due to its versatility and unique properties. Derived from the roots of the cassava plant, tapioca starch is a fine, white powder that is gluten-free, non-GMO, and hypoallergenic. It is commonly used as a thickener, binder, and stabilizer in a variety of food products, including baked goods, sauces, soups, and desserts. Tapioca starch is known for its ability to create a smooth and glossy texture in foods, making it a popular choice for creating creamy and smooth desserts like pudding and custard. Additionally, it is also used as a coating for fried foods, providing a crisp and crunchy texture.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tapioca food starch?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy