what is vegan

Is tetrasódium pyrophosphate vegan?

Tetrasódium pyrophosphate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is tetrasódium pyrophosphate?

Tetrasodium pyrophosphate is a synthetic ingredient commonly used as a food additive. It's an odorless and colorless powder with the ability to bind metal ions, making it useful in various food applications. It's also known for its emulsifying properties, allowing it to mix well with both oil and water-based ingredients. Tetrasodium pyrophosphate can be found in a wide array of foods, including baked goods, meat products, and processed cheese. While generally considered safe, some studies suggest that high levels of intake may have adverse health effects, so it should be consumed in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like tetrasódium pyrophosphate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy