what is vegan

Is vin doux naturel vegan?

Vin doux naturel is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is vin doux naturel?

Vin doux naturel is a type of fortified wine that is produced in the southern region of France. The term "vin doux naturel" translates to "naturally sweet wine", which is indicative of its characteristic flavor profile. The production of this wine involves the fortification of partially fermented grape juice with a neutral spirit, which stops the fermentation process and preserves some of the natural sweetness of the grapes. This results in a rich and flavorful wine with notes of dried fruit, nuts, and caramel. Vin doux naturel is often enjoyed as a dessert wine, and pairs well with chocolate, fruit tarts, and other sweet treats.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like vin doux naturel?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy