what is vegan

Is whey permeate powder vegan?

Whey permeate powder is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is whey permeate powder?

Whey permeate powder is a dairy-derived ingredient that has gained popularity in recent years as a cost-effective alternative to traditional dairy ingredients. It is produced by spray-drying the liquid remaining after milk protein and fat have been removed from whey. Whey permeate powder contains lactose, minerals, and vitamins, making it a versatile ingredient for food manufacturers. It can be used to enhance the flavor, texture, and nutritional profile of a wide range of products, including baked goods, beverages, and soups. Furthermore, its ability to act as a bulking agent and improve the flowability of powdered mixes makes it an ideal ingredient for dry blends.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like whey permeate powder?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy