what is vegan

Is witte peper vegan?

Witte peper is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is witte peper?

Witte peper, or white pepper in English, is a pungent and aromatic spice that comes from the ripened berries of the Piper nigrum plant. Unlike black pepper, which is made from the unripe berries that are dried and cooked, white pepper is made from fully ripened berries that are soaked in water, fermented, and then the outer layer is removed, revealing the white inner seed. It has a slightly milder flavor compared to black pepper, but is still a staple ingredient in many cuisines around the world, especially in European and Asian cooking. Witte peper is often used in dishes like soups, stews, sauces, marinades, and in seasoning meat, fish, and vegetables.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like witte peper?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy