what is vegan

Is worcestershire sauce from vegan?

Worcestershire sauce from is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is worcestershire sauce from?

Worcestershire sauce is a condiment that adds depth and umami to a variety of dishes. This savory sauce originates from Worcester, England, where it was first created by chemists John Wheeley Lea and William Henry Perrins in the 19th century. Made from a blend of vinegar, molasses, tamarind, anchovies, and various spices, Worcestershire sauce has a complex flavor profile that's both tangy and sweet, with a subtle umami undertone. It's a versatile ingredient that can serve as a marinade for meat, a flavor enhancer for soups and stews, or a zesty addition to bloody mary cocktails.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like worcestershire sauce from?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy