what is vegan

Is yeast extract. vegan?

Yeast extract. is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is yeast extract.?

Yeast extract is a natural flavor enhancer derived from yeast cells, commonly used in food as a savory or umami flavoring. It contains high levels of glutamic acid, which gives it a rich and meaty taste that can be used in vegetarian or vegan dishes to replace the flavor of meat. Yeast extract is also a source of B vitamins and minerals such as potassium and magnesium. Due to its strong flavor, only small amounts are usually needed to add depth to soups, sauces, gravies, and other savory dishes.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like yeast extract.?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy