what is vegan

Are active kefir cultures vegan?

Active kefir cultures is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is active kefir cultures?

Active kefir cultures are a type of beneficial bacteria and yeasts that are used to ferment milk and create kefir. These cultures are composed of a complex mixture of microorganisms, including Lactobacillus, Streptococcus, and yeasts such as Saccharomyces and Kluyveromyces. These cultures work together to break down lactose in milk, producing a tangy, probiotic-rich drink that has numerous health benefits. Consuming kefir with active cultures can help support digestive health, boost the immune system, and improve overall gut health. With their unique and powerful combination of beneficial microorganisms, active kefir cultures are a valuable ingredient for anyone looking to improve their gut health and overall well-being.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like active kefir cultures?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy