what is vegan

Are amidon d maïs vegan?

Amidon d maïs is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is amidon d maïs?

Amidon de maïs, also known as cornstarch, is a fine, white powder derived from the endosperm of corn kernels. This versatile ingredient is commonly used as a thickening agent in soups, sauces, and gravies, as well as a binding agent in baked goods and desserts. Cornstarch is gluten-free, making it an excellent alternative to wheat flour for those with gluten sensitivities. Additionally, it has a neutral flavor and does not discolor when cooked, making it a great choice for dishes where a clear or light-colored sauce or filling is desired. Due to its easy availability and numerous applications, cornstarch is a staple in many kitchens around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like amidon d maïs?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy