what is vegan

Are avec ferments vegan?

Avec ferments is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is avec ferments?

"Avec ferments" is a French term that translates to "with ferments" in English. It refers to food ingredients that have been intentionally fermented with beneficial bacteria, yeast, or other microorganisms to enhance their flavor, texture, and nutritional value. Fermentation is a natural process that breaks down complex compounds in food, making it easier to digest and absorb nutrients. Fermented foods with "avec ferments" may include yogurt, kefir, sourdough bread, kimchi, sauerkraut, and pickles. These products can provide a wide range of health benefits, such as boosting gut health, strengthening the immune system, and improving overall digestion.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like avec ferments?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy