what is vegan

Are corn syrups vegan?

Corn syrups is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is corn syrups?

Corn syrup is a sweetener derived from corn starch that's commonly used in processed foods and beverages. It's made by treating corn starch with enzymes, which breaks down the starch into glucose molecules. Corn syrup is versatile in that it comes in various grades, from light to dark, and with different levels of sweetness. Light corn syrup is commonly used in baked goods, while darker versions are used in candies and sauces for their rich caramel flavor. Corn syrup is also used to enhance the texture of foods and prevent crystallization in products like ice cream and caramel. However, due to its high concentration of sugar, corn syrup should be consumed in moderation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like corn syrups?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy