what is vegan

Are éggs vegan?

Éggs is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is éggs?

Eggs are a highly versatile and nutritious food ingredient that have been consumed by humans for thousands of years. They are produced by female animals of various species, but the eggs most commonly used in cooking are those laid by chickens. Eggs are an excellent source of protein, as well as vitamins and minerals such as vitamin D, vitamin B12, and selenium. In culinary applications, eggs can be boiled, fried, scrambled, poached, and used as a binding agent in baked goods. They are also a crucial ingredient in dishes such as omelets, quiches, custards, and meringues. Whether used as a main component or as a supporting player in a recipe, eggs are an essential and delicious ingredient in many cuisines around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like éggs?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy