what is vegan

Are extrait de levures vegan?

Extrait de levures, also known as yeast extract, is a highly concentrated paste made from autolyzed yeast cells. This ingredient is commonly used as a flavor enhancer in various food products due to its rich umami taste. Extracted from natural yeast, it contains glutamic acid, which stimulates the taste receptors on the tongue, creating a savory and meaty flavor. Besides being a flavor enhancer, it also contains essential vitamins and minerals such as B-complex vitamins and potassium. Due to its versatility and nutritional value, yeast extract is a popular ingredient in many savory dishes including soups, stews, sauces, and gravies.

Extrait de levures is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like extrait de levures?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy