what is vegan

Are fermentos läcteos vegan?

Fermentos läcteos is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is fermentos läcteos?

Fermentos lácteos, also known as dairy ferment starters, are a combination of live bacteria cultures used to ferment milk and dairy products. These cultures consist of strains of bacteria, such as Lactobacillus and Streptococcus, which convert lactose into lactic acid, resulting in a tangy and slightly sour taste. Fermentos lácteos are commonly used in the production of yogurt, cheese, sour cream, and buttermilk, as well as other fermented dairy products. They not only enhance the flavor and texture of these products but also provide numerous health benefits, such as improving digestion and boosting the immune system.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like fermentos läcteos?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy