what is vegan

Are gelatins vegan?

Gelatin is a protein obtained from animal collagen that has been processed, purified, and dehydrated into a powder or sheets. It is commonly used in food as a gelling agent, thickener, and stabilizer in products such as desserts, confectionery, and marshmallows. Gelatin is also used in pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, and photography. It is a versatile ingredient that can be manipulated to various textures and flavors, making it a staple in the food industry. However, those who follow a vegetarian or vegan diet avoid gelatin as it is derived from animal sources.

Gelatins is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gelatins?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy