what is vegan

Are glycerol salts vegan?

Glycerol salts is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glycerol salts?

Glycerol salts are a type of food ingredient that are commonly used as emulsifiers, stabilizers, and humectants. These salts are derived from glycerol, which is a colorless and odorless liquid that is naturally present in animal and vegetable fats. Glycerol salts are created by reacting glycerol with fatty acids, resulting in a molecule that is both hydrophilic and hydrophobic. This unique property allows glycerol salts to dissolve in both water and oil, making them an ideal ingredient for a variety of food products, including baked goods, confectionery, and dairy products. Additionally, glycerol salts can help extend the shelf life of food products and improve their texture and appearance.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glycerol salts?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy