what is vegan

Are hartweizengries vegan?

Hartweizengries is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hartweizengries?

Hartweizengries, also known as durum wheat semolina, is a coarse, granular flour made from the hard, high-protein wheat called durum. This versatile ingredient is a staple in Italian cuisine, where it is commonly used to make pasta, pizza dough, and bread. It has a distinctive golden color and a slightly gritty texture that gives pasta a satisfying chewy texture. Hartweizengries is rich in nutrients such as fiber, protein, and minerals like iron, magnesium, and potassium, making it a healthy and nutritious addition to any meal. Its unique properties also make it a popular choice for creating gluten-free alternatives to wheat-based products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hartweizengries?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy