what is vegan

Are hémicellulases vegan?

Hémicellulases is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hémicellulases?

Hemicellulases are a group of enzymes that are widely used in the food industry for their ability to break down hemicellulose, a complex carbohydrate that is a major component of plant cell walls. These enzymes play a vital role in the production of various food products such as bread, beer, and wine by breaking down the hemicellulose present in the grains and other raw materials used in their production. They also have potential applications in the production of biofuels and the paper and pulp industry. Hemicellulases are typically produced by microorganisms such as fungi and bacteria and are available in both liquid and powdered form.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hémicellulases?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy